Visit at Mercier opened my eyes for champagne, how it's made, of which grapes and how long the history really is and what the generations of families have gained (and maybe lost) over the centuries in this business.  First reason for my lack of knowledge is of course that champagne is expensive, reserved for only special occasions, I mean really special like 50's anniversary or something.  We never had champagne when I was young.  Hardly ever nowadays but slowly changing I must say.  Still it's only served on special parties but at least we can afford it every now and then.

1240939653_img-d41d8cd98f00b204e9800998e

1240939784_img-d41d8cd98f00b204e9800998e

We visited the cellars with a train, not all as there's 18km of caves at Mercier.  Caves keep the same temperature all year round, +10C is the best for ageing the wine.  It felt cold, humid and slightly smelling of dust, sand and mold.  After the drive under we had tasting of three champagne: year 2007, vintage 2006 and rose.  All were good, excellent bubbles and well matured taste :)  My mouth (or brain) has not the competence for wine tasting, I could hardly say about the fruityness from something else.  But good to drink anyway, bought one bottle for Jouni.  Excellent visit!

1240939848_img-d41d8cd98f00b204e9800998e

1240940111_img-d41d8cd98f00b204e9800998e

Then we took a road over the hills, hill side full of vineyards, to Reims and our hotel in the center.  Sightseeing, must see the cathedral Notre Dame and then shopping.  And what a fine shopping street there was, something for Heini and also for me.  An hour or two went by fast before my wallet told me to slow down a bit to save something for Paris also.  Met our hosts at the champagne bar in the lobby.  Was this the third bottle already?  Maybe forth?

Dinner at Restaurant Flo.  Nicely situated on the pedestrian street, close the hotel as the weather had changed, fortunately the showers came while we were eating.  I had snails for start and fish for maincourse.  My desert was too much, three pieces of different chocolate cakes.  Full and a bit light headed walking back to hotel and sleep.