I've been two days in my new position and wanted to share some thoughts with you right in the beginning before all this turns into business as usual.  Yesterday I visited my new office, just 2,5km walk from home.  I actually did walk even though we had -20C and I have a flu.  Better walk than use the car as finding a parking space is impossible at the location.  I could have cyckled but having the flu it seemed not a good idea.  Jouni has been cyckling since we moved here after the Xmas vacation but he's grown the tolerance for the cold already.  He's got 4km to work and the roads are in appalling condition so it really requires him to be fit and motivated. 

Well walking yesterday morning was really something special.  Sun was shining, white snow, traffic noise is muffled because of the snow.  It was just a joy.  Even the temperature didn't feel so bad, of course it is just a question of how you dress up, enough layers and good pace on walking.  The worst was that my nose is running and I had to take off my mitten to sneeze and I don't have a proper backpack for the laptop.  But I was really in good mood when getting to work.  Finns seem to start talking to passers by only either on vacation in summertime or when the nature gives us the rough time.  So somebody just started chatting on the way to the office about the weather and we ended up to the same office, funny. 

I had lunch alone but got company sitting by myself, people who I have had some contacts but never met.  Should go to the canteen alone more often, good for networking!  My induction started after lunch.  I know my boss already from years back so we got straight to the point.  Easy and efficient.  I got information of  the organisation structure, managers, people and what they do.  We have service desks, onsite support, virtual office development and communication and collaboration tool development so this is quite simple for me to get to know.  Almost 800 people around the world, customer from banks to public sector and industries too.  All in all the area is interesting and the growth is estimated to be huge.

Word spreads quickly and today I started to get emails and phone calls starting that "I heard you are the new blablablah..."  So deep dive today and I've been busy in finding answers and get the grip on everything.  My first task was to arrange meetings with the managers and find a place for myself in the new location.  No luck with the last one yet but there's good visitor desks available for anyone.  Meetings arranged for tomorrow though.  Two days to go before we head to the North for winter vacation.  Hoping the temperature to raise a bit for next week!