I just agreed this morning about my new position. I'm a Global Staffing Manager for End User Services Business Unit.  There's a bit under 600 people around the world, most in Finland and Sweden, then at least Czeck Republic and India, maybe elsewhere too.  I don't really know much yet :D  First induction and practical issues will be sorted out on Monday.

How I ended up here?  The whole company had a change in the beginning of the year, the organisation was transformed totally and my old unit was splitted to several places.  Managers were changed from top down and of course manager wants to create his/her own team from scratch.  This has taken until now.  First priority was to get line management in place and as I'm working in support function this was left to the last. 

On Monday I got a phone call from a colleague and he offered me a position in one of the competence based Business Unit as a staffing manager.  I was very much flattered as I have not been in contact too often and can't remember doing anything special for him.  Maybe I've done something good or my reporting has impressed him :)  I had been in contact with two other BU managers already in January but heard nothing since.  So I felt I had to inform them about this offer just to be fair.  After a day I had two offers on my desk.  Both areas unknown to me, boss either in Sweden or Finland, at least one knew the importance of the role.  Third manager didn't know what staffing is and if they needed this function in the BU.  So I turned down the first offer and Swedish boss (other reasons too) and didn't bother to start convincing the third and I have now accepted the offer from my old boss two years back. 

Positive sides are the boss, my new office will be just 3km from home, I get to work again globally and using my language skills, travelling, new area to learn, new challenges etc.  Mostly just to get something to do.  The last couple of weeks have been boring and I could not get even the smallest thing done because I was not busy, no deadlines, no stress.  And this has effected also home, I've been lethargic.  Hopefully energy will start to flow again!