My dear friend booked a status update for last night in downtown Helsinki.  I went first shopping.  Well I was planning to shop but when I got to Stockmann's I just did not feel like it.  So my legs took me to the restaurant on 8th floor, hands took a bottle of Cava and the other hand a Bebe and there I was drinking and eating and updating my FB status while watching interesting people around me (a young couple on their first? date, lady friends (older) mostly in pairs and then groups of people I guess work related).  Cava went straight to my legs, feeling a bit dizzy but I enjoyed.  But better to get shopping done!  So off I go, to the bookstore and found two books for presents.  Then I got also something for my old joints (Glucosamin) from the Pharmasist, a prescription long waiting for me to get it.  I was quite pleased with myself.  Sari called when I was fidgeting gloves (which I don't need but those are so good to touch) and we agreed to meet at the restaurant, the Restaurant Aito where I had reserved a table for us. 

I took a tram and Sari decided to walk from her hotel.  I have tried to get a table earlier but the restaurant has been fully booked for months.  Well now I know to get there on Mondays.  There is only 30-40 seats and last night only 3-4 tables in use so we had privacy and good service.  No prices in menu, price told only for 2 or 3 course meal.  Quite rare in Helsinki but this was of course business as usual for my Parisienne friend :)  After a visit to the toilet Sari guessed that the restaurant is heading for a Michelin star.  Lets see.

First some Cava (rose) for apetizer.  Greetings from kitchen before our starter included smoked roach on malted bread.  I can't remember eating roach (särki) as it is normally cat's food but this was really good.  Blini's for starter and wild boar for main course.  The waitress recommended an Austrian white with blinis and South African red with the boar.  Excellent choices all!  Food was just perfect, really lovely.  Sari had Petit Fours for dessert and I had Marengue with apple and rasberry compote.  Accompaning Riesling was spot on.  Eating is really a joy  and this meal surpassed well the expectations.

Joy always to meet Sari and last night was something I really needed.  Good old girl talk always gives some perspective to the life, everything is really allright after all.  Need to plan a visit to Paris during Spring, maybe with Tuuli.